Posted on

Ready for the Kids to Arrive!

Wow! I am really pleased with how this room has come together this year. I have moved rooms each year so I was used to having multiple boxes to unpack, walls and bookshelves to fill, etc. It used to take me multliple, LONG days to get my room ready for students. It was often something I dreaded, instead of anticipated.

I’m happy to say that this year I got to stay in my same room from last year. Talk about making set-up much easier! Whew! I actually looked forward to setting up my room this year and couldn’t wait to get started. I gathered ideas from great books and websites to help come up with what would work best for my room and my students. I only had to make one trip to The Chalkboard (vs. multiple runs in the past) and $75 later (again, not bad!), the room is ready for students to arrive.

This year I wanted to make sure I created a place in my room for my Reading Corner (where all my students could sit on the floor) and my Writing Zone. This proved to be a bit of a challenge because last year I only had 20 students and plenty of extra space. This year I will have 29 wonderful kiddos…which means 9 more desks. Yikes! I had to get a little more creative in my groupings and arrangement, but I think it’ll work out. I’d love to hear your thoughts and ideas on this!

Writing Center

Reading Zone

About heatherk5

I am an enthusiastic, energetic, fifth grade teacher who loves reading, writing, and working with my students.

4 responses to “Ready for the Kids to Arrive!

  1. Your room looks great! I loved being able to see the “before and “after” between your two posts!

  2. Your classroom looks great! Your kiddos are lucky to have such a wonderful space to learn every day! 🙂

  3. jensens29

    I like that you are able to designate corners toward these two literacy activities. Looks like there are some comfy places to read.

  4. surfer ⋅

    the reading corner really changed

Leave a Reply

